Official Website of Indian Pencak Silat Federation
Special General Body Meeting 2023 Elects New Executive Body for Indian Pencak Silat Federation

Srinagar, Kashmir – September 10, 2023 – The Indian Pencak Silat Federation (IPSF) convened a momentous Special General Body Meeting at the prestigious Hotel Grand Mir International in the heart of Srinagar, Kashmir, on September 10th, 2023. This landmark event witnessed a closely contested election, resulting in the election of a dynamic and dedicated team to lead the federation for the 2023-2027 term.

Under the vigilant supervision of the Returning Officer, Sumit Sharma (B.A LLB), an esteemed advocate of the District Court in Amritsar, and with the keen observation of Shri Mohd Iqbal from the International Pencak Silat Federation (PERSILAT), the Asian Pencak Silat Federation (APSIF), and Irfan Aziz Botta from the South Asian Pencak Silat Federation (SAPSF), the IPSF’s democratic process unfolded seamlessly.

The newly elected executive body is poised to take Indian Pencak Silat to greater heights and foster the development of the sport across the nation. After intense deliberation and voting, the following individuals emerged as the torchbearers of Pencak Silat in India:

President: Shri Kishor Prakash Yewale of Maharashtra
Shri Yewale, a distinguished figure hailing from Maharashtra, brings with him a wealth of experience and an unwavering commitment to the role of President. His visionary leadership is eagerly anticipated and is set to steer the future of Pencak Silat in India to new horizons.

Senior Vice President: Mrs. Philia A. Thomas of Daman & Diu
As the Senior Vice President, Mrs. Thomas is entrusted with a pivotal role in promoting and nurturing Pencak Silat in Daman & Diu and across the entire country. Her dedication to the sport is an asset to the IPSF.

Vice Presidents:

  • Shri Vijayakumar of Karnataka
  • Shri Arun Kumar Sadhu of Gujarat
  • Shri Abrar Ahmad Shaikh of Madhya Pradesh

These Vice Presidents represent diverse regions of India and are committed to advancing the sport in their respective areas, fostering growth and inclusivity.

Secretary-General: Shri Tariq Ahmad Zargar of Jammu & Kashmir
Hailing from the host state of Jammu & Kashmir, Shri Zargar assumes the vital role of Secretary-General, entrusted with overseeing the administrative aspects of the federation. His local insights and administrative acumen are invaluable assets to the IPSF.

Joint Secretaries:

  • Shri Naorem Boynao Singh of Manipur
  • Shri Sooraj Prakash Srivastava of Uttar Pradesh
  • Shri P Mahesh Babu of Tamil Nadu

These Joint Secretaries will collaborate seamlessly, supporting various administrative functions, ensuring the smooth operation of the federation.

Treasurer: Shri Nasir Ahmad Digoo of Jammu & Kashmir
As the Treasurer, Shri Digoo will meticulously manage the financial affairs of the IPSF, ensuring transparency, accountability, and responsible financial stewardship.

Executive Members:

  • Shri Prem Singh Thapa of Odisha
  • Shri Lakshayajit Dholey of Assam
  • Shri Antony Cedly Branganza of Goa
  • Ms. Sonia of Haryana
  • Shri Shaj S.K of Kerala
  • Shri Abhay Shriwas of Madhya Pradesh
  • Shri Anuj Dattaguru Sarnaik of Maharashtra

These esteemed Executive Members will actively contribute to shaping the future of Pencak Silat in India, striving to foster a vibrant and inclusive environment for practitioners nationwide.

The newly elected executive body of the Indian Pencak Silat Federation expresses heartfelt gratitude to the members and stakeholders for their trust and support. Together, they look forward to taking Pencak Silat in India to unprecedented heights and building a legacy of excellence in the sport.

Discover more from Official Website of Indian Pencak Silat Federation

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading